Create a View-Only Link for a Registration
If your registration is embargoed, a view-only link offers a way for you to share the private contents with non-contributors. You can create an anonymized view-only link to hide your contributor names on the registration's "Overview" page and in the "Recent Activity" section - this is particularly useful in blinded peer review! If you're creating an anonymized view-only link for a preregistration, your contributor names will be hidden in the "Authors" section of your form, as well.
Only admins on a registration can create view-only links. This feature will not be visible to read and read+write contributors.
1. Create the link
First, open the registration for which you want to create a view-only link, and your "Overview" page will appear.
Then, click the Contributors tab in your registration's navigation bar.
The "Contributors" page will appear.
Find the "View-only Links" section at the bottom of the page. Then Click the green +Add button. This button will not be visible to contributors with read or read+write access permissions.
A modal will appear.
- Type a name for the link into the first field to help you identify it later (optional).
- To hide your identity from viewers - such as for blinded review - check the box next to Anonymize. This will remove all contributors' names from the contributor's list and logs (optional).
- To extend the view-only link to any registered components, check the boxes next to the respective component(s). Note: Only those with checked boxes will be shared with the link.
- Click the Create button.
3. Copy and share the link
All of your active view-only links are listed in the "View-only Links" section of the "Contributors" page.
In this section, you can see the link, the link's name, shared components, date of creation, who created the link, and whether the link is anonymized.
To share the link, click the Copy icon to the left of the link. The link will be copied to your clipboard for sharing.
4. Remove a view-only link
Removing the link will prevent anyone who has the link from continuing to access your project or its components.
In the "View-only Links" section of the "Contributors" page, click the Remove button to the right of the link that you want to delete.
A modal will appear asking you to confirm the removal.
The view-only link will be removed from your registration.