Withdraw a Registration

Withdrawing a registration removes its contents from the OSF. The "Registration Overview" page will maintain basic metadata (e.g. title, contributors, etc.) about the registration, as well as a justification for its withdrawal.

Please note that registration withdrawal is irreversible.

Navigate to the registration that you want to withdraw.

Then click the Settings tab in the navigation bar.

The "Settings" page will appear.

Click the Withdraw Registration button.

You will be taken to a page where you will need to confirm that withdrawal of your registration.

Provide a justification that indicates the reason for withdrawal.

Then type the word provided into the second textbox.

Click Withdraw Registration.

You will receive an email in which you can either approve or cancel the withdrawal of your registration. All administrators on the registrations need to approve. If no action is taken within 48 hours, then the registration will be withdrawn automatically.

When all administrators approve the withdrawal of the registration, the registration's content, such as the registration form and attached files, will be deleted. However, the "Registration Overview" page will continue to exist with the following differences:

  1. The "Registration Overview" page will have a banner at the top of the page indicating that the registration is withdrawn.
  2. The "Registration Overview" page will also maintain basic information, such as its title, contributors, date created, date registered, date withdrawn, description, and the justification for its withdrawal.

On the original project's "Registrations" page, the registration will be marked with a "Withdrawn" label.