What is a Read-only Project?

This Article Is Licensed Under CCO For Maximum Reuse.

cc-zero.png

When Projects are in Read-only state the ONLY actions that are possible by contributors and viewers are:

  • Files can be downloaded.
  • Files can be viewed/previewed.
  • Wiki can be viewed and copied.
  • Analytics, including views are tracked.
  • Files in storage integrations (Add-ons) are downloadable.
  • Connected Citation integrations (Add-ons) are viewable.
  • Activity logs remain viewable.
  • Projects are able to be deleted by Project admins.
  • Registrations created from a project are linked to the project and viewable from public Projects.
  • View-only links will be able to to be created or deleted by admin contributors.
  • Project privacy (public/private) settings can be edited by admin contributors ONLY to make private content public.
  • Existing view-only links will continue to work.

Actions that are not possible for Read-only Projects:

  • DOIs cannot be created.
  • Contributor permissions cannot be changed.
  • You will no longer be able to create a registration from a project only through the Registration workflow or from the Dashboard/workflow launcher.
  • Components within a project cannot be created or deleted.
  • Metadata cannot be edited, this includes adding/removing contributors, making changes to title, description, license.
  • New Storage integrations (Add-ons) cannot be connected.
  • New Citation integrations cannot be connected.
  • Project files cannot be uploaded, moved, copied, or deleted.
  • Wiki cannot be updated or changed .

You can find more help understanding how to manage your Read-only OSF Projects in our OSF Projects Transition Guide.



This Article Is Licensed Under CCO For Maximum Reuse.

cc-zero.png

Back to Main Support page

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.