Add-ons


This Article Is Licensed Under CCO For Maximum Reuse.

cc-zero.png

Transition Impact on Add-ons

With OSF Projects moving to Read-only on February 19, 2027, key changes will occur to storage integrations, or add-ons. Connections with add-on storage locations such as Google Drive, Dropbox, Github, and One Drive will be maintained. This means they will continue to show updated lists of files available in those locations and will be accessible. Reauthentication to keep an existing connection, and the ability to connect and remove existing add-ons will still be available.


However, they will no longer be modifiable through the OSF interface (for example, the ability to upload a new file to the add-on will not be possible). No new storage add-ons can be configured for projects.


These changes are detailed in the table below.



Now - February 19, 2027 February 19, 2027 - Beyond 
Storage integrations can be re-authorized  YES YES
Storage integrations can be connected YES NO
Storage integrations can be disconnected YES YES
Files can be added to storage integrations YES NO
Files can be viewed in storage integrations YES YES
Files can be downloaded in storage integrations YES YES
File actions (move, copy) can be performed between storage providers YES NO
Citation integrations can be connected YES YES
Citation integrations can be re-authorized YES YES
Citation integrations can be disconnected YES YES
Citation integrations can be viewed on the project overview page YES YES
Linked Services can be connected YES YES
Linked Services can be re-authorized YES YES
Linked Services can be disconnected YES YES

View Connected Addons in your OSF Profile

All add-on integrations that you have connected to your OSF profile, cn be viewed from your Profile settings page “Configure addon & link service accounts” and then configured specifically for any project you wish to connect them to. From the left sidebar navigation, locate the Settings menu (cog icon). Expand the menu and select Configure add-on & link service accounts.

Disable or Reconnect from OSF Settings


From the left sidebar navigation, locate the Settings menu (cog icon). Expand the menu and select Configure add-on & link service accounts. Select the Connected Add-ons tab to display your connected add-ons.


Disable

The red Disable button completely removes the add-on connection from your settings. For any projects this add-on was connected to, the add-on becomes non-functional and selected folders or filesets will no longer load or display.  See Disconnect from a Project for instructions to cleanly remove add-on connections from individual projects.

  1. Select the add-on you wish to disable.
  2. Confirm disable. NOTE: All projects that are configured with this add-on will be disconnected.

Reconnect & Reauthorize

To reauthorize an add-on (in the case where your add-on password has changed or authorization has otherwise expired) click Reconnect and follow the steps to reauthorize. If you used an API Key or Access Token to authorize, you may need to create a new one from that add-on site.


Specific instructions for configuring individual Storage Addons can be found here.


If you need to download content directly from any projects that have external storage providers connected see these instructions.



cc-zero.png

This Article Is Licensed Under CCO For Maximum Reuse.

Back to Main Support page

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.