Store Content on the OSF
This Article Is Licensed Under CCO For Maximum Reuse.
If you choose to leave your content on the OSF, it will be converted to a Read-only Project and will remain accessible at the same URL and DOI, if one was created. If your Project is affiliated with an institution, that affiliation will be retained.
If your public Project does not need further updates, we strongly recommend that you take no action. If you choose to move your content, there are a number of risks for the future findability of your work:
- It means that the work is less likely to be matched when someone cites it.
- It splits the citation record.
- It undermines the purpose of registering persistent identifiers.
- It also makes a mess of the item metadata.
- There is also the potential for multiple contributors to create DOIs for the same content, again creating more than one DOI for a work.
By allowing COS staff to manage your content, you are guaranteeing that the DOI/URL will always work for the content/file you created and the associated metadata remains the same.
If you do decide to store your content on OSF, you may want to make some adjustments to make sure it is findable and complete. Check the following guides for help:
- Make my project public
- Improve the metadata associated with your project
- Update tools that use the OSF API
- Learn to use the New Dashboard and Workflow Launcher
- Manage existing add-ons
This Article Is Licensed Under CCO For Maximum Reuse.