Edit Your Draft Registration

The guide will walk you through the main workflows to quickly and successfully edit your draft registration.

Accessing Your Draft Registration

How you access your draft registration depends on whether you started a registration from scratch or a registration based on a project/component. Both are included below.

Blank registration

An email is sent whenever a registration is created or when a contributor is added. This email includes the link to the draft registration. Click this link to open the draft registration to continue your edits.

 

Started from a project/component

There are two ways to access a registration that is based on a project. In the first way, an email is sent whenever a registration is created or when a contributor is added. This email includes the link to the draft registration. Click this link to open up the draft registration to continue your edits.

 

The second way is to open the project the registration is based on, and click  “Registrations” in the navigation bar.

 

Click the “Draft registrations”  tab.

Click either the title (1) or the “Edit” button (2) on the draft registration you want to open.

 

Research Registration Template Structure

Each research registration template is structured differently, each equipped with their own sections and questions. The sections are listed in the left panel. You can navigate the different sections in the research registration template by either using the left panel (1) or pressing the “Next” and Back buttons (2).

Registration Metadata

The first sections on each template will ask you to enter basic metadata (Title, Description, etc.) about your data and research. This metadata is used to increase your registration’s findability.

Note: This metadata will not be synced if you registered from a project.

 

Adding, Editing, and Removing Contributors

You can review your contributors directly on your registrations using the Contributors widget. The widget has 6 key components:

  1. The name of the contributor associated with the registration.
  2. The permission level of the contributor. Click the dropdown and select the appropriate permission level. You can read more about permission levels [here <link to guide>].
  3. If the contributor will be included in the bibliographic citation when submitted. Contributors with a blue check mark icon are included in the citation.
  4. Employment and education information of the contributor, if provided. Click the down arrow to access this information.
  5. Remove the contributor from the registration. (read more)
  6. Add a contributor to the registration. (read more)

Add a Contributor

Press the blue circle with the plus symbol. 

 

The “Add Contributor” widget will open.

 

To add a contributor that has an OSF account, click inside the search field. Type in the contributor’s name, GUID, or ORCID ID, then click “Search”.

A list of registered OSF contributors will appear. Set the permission (1) and citation (2) settings for the appropriate contributor. Once set, click the green plus sign (3) to add them to the registration.

 

Once added, a success notification will populate in the upper right screen (1), the green plus sign will become a gray check (2), and they will be listed in the “Current Contributors” pane (3). The added contributor will receive an email informing them they have been added with a link to the draft registration.

Confirm with your contributor(s)  that they were successfully added. Several contributors may have the same name and OSF does not share emails for privacy reasons.  Important: Contributors cannot be edited after the registration is submitted.

Remove a Contributor

Select the red “X” in the same row as the contributor to be removed.

Note: At least one Administrator contributor must be associated with a draft registration.

A confirmation window will appear. Click  “Remove contributor”.

 

A green success notification will appear and the contributor will be removed from the “Contributors” list.

 

Saving

Your draft is automatically saved so you and/or your collaborators can return later. The template autosaves every few seconds when updates are made. You can exit the template and return to the draft at any time.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us